Enon Baptist Church has had a rich history and has always been a big part of the Enon community. Enon Baptist Church celebrated their anniversary on Oct. 8. John Alexander Strachan started holding worship and prayer services in his home at Point of Rocks in 1845. He and his friend from Mount Blanco, William Francis Gill, decided to build a Baptist church for the little community of Enon. Strachan donated some of his farmland and Gill donated lumber from his sawmill. They started out in 1845 with twenty-two members. Enon Baptist has endured many hardships in those 168 years. During the Civil War, the church building was torn down by the Union troops that landed at Bermuda Hundred. The wood was used in the construction of a large field hospital at Point of Rocks.
After the Civil War was over, Strachan and some of the few men left in the community rebuilt their church from the wood they took back from the hospital.
In remembering the years gone by, many antiques and collectibles that have been used at the church through the years were displayed in the church entrance hall.
Photos brought back many good memories for all. Some of the antiques include the pulpit and pulpit furniture from the late 19th century. Lead pastor Ricky Lack delivered the morning sermon standing behind the old pulpit.
The community is invited to worship Sunday mornings at 11 a.m. “You’ll feel right at home,” said Crystal Monroe, longtime member and descendant of Strachan.